About the Sacraments

A sacrament is a visible sign of an invisible grace. In each sacrament, it is Jesus Christ Himself, acting through the person of the ordained minister, who imparts His grace and blessing on His people. Christ gave us the seven sacraments to show the Father's Love, to sanctify our lives, and to enable us to participate in our own salvation. But, it is not enough simply to receive the sacraments. Just as we must open both our arms and our hearts to share an embrace with someone, so we participate in the sacraments in part by making ourselves and our children spiritually ready for them.

  • Children prepare for the sacraments through our Youth Faith Formation (YFF) program.
  • Adults prepare for the sacraments through the Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA) program.

Sacraments of Initiation

Baptism washes us clean from all sin, original and personal, and makes us children of God by filling us with the Holy Spirit, and thereby joining us to Christ and his Body, the Church.

Confirmation brings to fullness the graces we receive in Baptism and fills us with an even greater share of the Holy Spirit. This sacrament completes our initiation into Christ's Church.

The Eucharist (Holy Communion)
The Eucharist is the Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Jesus Christ. It is the source and summit of our lives as Christians, which should flow from and lead us back to the Eucharist. Our Communion in the Lord's self-sacrifice manifests our unity in Him.

Sacraments of Healing

The early Church fathers called Reconciliation "Second Baptism." It is a way to experience God's abundant mercy.  Reconciliation forgives sins and restores us to Christ's great gift of the sacramental life of the Church.

Anointing of the Sick
James 5:13-16 exhorts Christians to receive anointing from the priests when they are sick.  This anointing is for healing of body and soul and also grants the forgiveness of sins.

Sacraments of Service

Marriage is a life-long partnership between a man and woman which is both for the good of the spouses and for the generation and education of children.  Marriage shows the unity of Christ and His Body, the Church.

Holy Orders
Holy Orders is the continuation of Christ's priestly mission, entrusted to His Church. At ordination, bishops, priests, and deacons receive sacred power from Christ through His Church to serve the faithful.